Lithium cell swap with stock BMS? - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight Forum 1st-Gen Discussion

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2017, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Lithium cell swap with stock BMS?

As of yesterday I am the proud owner of a Manual Transmission 2001 silver insight! I am an electrical engineering student so I find hybrids/EVs fascinating and have been a long time lurker and love the hacks/mods done to this car. The long term goal is to eventually convert it to full EV via something like a leaf motor swap, but that won't happen for a while (When I am no longer a student and have a garage to work in).

The car has 102k miles on it and is in pretty descent shape, but the IMA battery is nonfunctional. Its currently disconnected and the car drives fine that way, but I would like to fix it if possible. I have researched the grid charger route, but that is not a long term solution, and the info from the previous owner was that the IMA system hasn't functioned in well over 2 years, so I don't know if it will even recover. Even if it does, I will probably have to replace a couple cells and it won't be long until more of them go bad so I don't want to go down that route. I could also continue to run it as it is. This wouldn't be a bad option as my current commute is mostly highway driving, but the lack of acceleration at higher speeds isn't ideal for merging, and there are some bigger hills where I would like to have the extra power so I don't have to slow down below the speed limit. I could also buy a Bumblebee battery, but I don't think I can justify spending the $2000 and am looking for a cheaper alternative.