Neutral vs 'gliding' - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 2nd Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight MPG

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2013, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Neutral vs 'gliding'

OK, so I'm a newbie. In the past, I've always just put my non-hybrid Accord in neutral while coasting downhill as it rolled a lot freer and gained a lot more speed than just 'coasting' while in "D". With the Insight this still seems to be the case, BUT I've noticed that the 'gauge' shows some gas being consumed when in neutral when otherwise (in "D") it will show the battery being regenerated with no gas consumption.
So my question is, will the amount of fuel (I assume it is very minimal) being used while in neutral be offset by the increase in speed I gain over keeping it in "D" ? Or is it more economical to keep it in "D" with the corresponding decrease in speed gained. And if the answer is 'maybe', at what grade/distance do you think? IOW, how much speed gain (and over what distance?) over keeping it in "d" needs to be gained to run in 'neutral' ?

(hope this makes sense).
Charlie46227 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2013, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

I would only go to neutral if the battery was 100% full, otherwise, you're probably shooting yourself in the foot.

If you're coasting in neutral down a hill but the battery is only 75% charged once you have to go back into D on flat ground it'll want to charge the battery which probably negates (and then some) any gain you saved while coasting in neutral.

That's how I see it, anyway. May as well get some free juice.
Old 02-26-2013, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)