Honda Insight Forum banner

Tire problems-cracks in tread!

11K views 6 replies 7 participants last post by  Resist 
#1 ·
Just wondering if anyone else had this, my search did not find it. At 7456 miles, I did my first service (I have been an aircraft mechanic my whole life, not afraid of an insight) and after changing the oil, was ready to rotate the tires. I noticed the front tires had cracks between the treads, very similar to dry rot cracks on 20 year old tires. This is a 7456 mile pampered car with EXACT tire pressures. I am taking it to a bridgestone dealer tomorrow. I would LOVE to find a better quality tire, improving the tendancy to resist every crack in the road. I do not mind the economy comprimise, but would trade 5 mpg for not fighting the wheel in bad roads. If anyone had this, or has tire replacements that do NOT affect the MPG sensors, let me know. :?:

#2 ·
Re: Tire problems-cracks in tread!!

speed said:
....I have been an aircraft mechanic my whole life, not afraid of an insight) and after changing the oil, was ready to rotate the tires. I noticed the front tires had cracks between the treads, very similar to dry rot cracks on 20 year old tires.
Hello speed,
Is your Insight always parked outside ? As I can see yours from 2001, it is not verry strange to see tires already getting cracks if parked outside. BTW we can shake hands, you are an aircraft mechanic, well....I am a aircraft ground engineer and I've seen many times new tires (on planes, Bridgestones as well) which were having cracks between the treads. If your Insight is always parked inside a garage, your tires should'nt crack that fast. I hope you can get new for free !! Of the record, what types of a/c you worked on ?

Good luck

#3 ·
[Duplicate posts removed by moderator.]

Windmill, I removed your like 8 duplicate posts. I'm getting the same error message, which I'm sure is being worked on. For now just click back after you get the error message and your post should be here.