Grid Charging batteries out of the car - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight Forum 1st-Gen Discussion

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2019, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Grid Charging batteries out of the car

I'm new to all these insights. I bought my first one last November and 4 more roughly in the last month. One of them came with a grid charger that had a 4 molex computer connector on it. The last one I bought had a 4 flat trailer wiring connector on it so I just made up an adapter to fit. Can I pull the batteries out of the other cars and grid charge them on a bench or do they need to be connected to other items in the car to charge properly. I would think bench charging is fine but just wanted to make sure. I have an extra battery that I picked up that's sitting on the bench that I wanted to play with first.
Thanks for the help.
2003 Silver CVT 108k
2005 Silver CVT 261k
bvad8486 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2019, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)

Bench charging is fine. You have to take the battery out anyway to install a harness to connect a charger in most cases.
atikovi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2019, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)

Yes you can. Where are you from. You have five cars? If you do you are a five timers club member. What colors are they? I would not charge or discharge below 40F better to charge it 70 but in the house you could control that. I get advice from what I call the top 10. Welcome to the insight world?
NathanC is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2019, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)

Default Thanks Guys