A Couple of Newbie Questions....... - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 2nd Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight MPG

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2011, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default A Couple of Newbie Questions.......

The lease on my Accord finishes up in 3 months, so I started doing some research and realized that the Prius is the wisest choice for me.

But then I saw that the Prius shortage is going to make it impossible for me to actually get one at a reasonable price. So I started looking at alternatives, and as an Accord driver, I naturally checked out Honda's hybrids and am seriously considering the Civic Hybrid and the Insight.

I live in Los Angeles; in the Valley (Tujunga, if anybody knows where that is, lol. Sandwiched between La Canada and Sunland haha) and I go to school at USC; its 20 miles each way, and my Accord only gives me 20 mpg. I fill up about $70 a week.

THIS HAS TO STOP.

So I started doing research and, naturally, ended up here. Very informative posts. I have my own questions, so I thought I'd join. (Great to be here, btw lol)

1. My commute is mostly freeway, but on the way home (especially during traffic) I pretty much go down Figueroa, go through a few small streets, then get on the freeway. Will I be able to achieve the 50 (or even 45) MPG people are getting?

2. How many gallons does the tank take? I've heard 9, I've heard 11, so I'm just curious.

3. I usually do 70-80 on the freeway; will I have to change my habits to get maximum mileage? I'm willing to change if I have to! lol

Thanks!
archieg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-12-2011, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

My wife drives about 100 miles a day and a lot of it is between 70-80.