How to coast/glide? - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 2nd Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight MPG

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2011, 06:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default How to coast/glide?

This is my first hybrid, so I'm a newbie.

Anyhow, is it possible to coast with the 2011 Insight? I find that as soon as I take my foot off the accelerator the car feels like it is braking itself and my speed drops decently, even when going down big hills.

My old, non-hybrid car was able to hold it's speed for quite a while on flat ground without touching the accelerator and gain quite a bit of speed going down hills.

Thanks!
blank18 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2011, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Member

It is possible, but not designed to work that way. When you lift your right foot, the energy of your rolling car is converted into electricity to charge the IMA battery. That's why you are slowing down. It is supposed to work that way.

If you really insist on coasting, you could put the tranny in Neutral. The car will coast in the more traditional manner that you are missing, but you are not charging the battery and you are burning gas. That goes against the design of the car.

Hopefully you will learn to change your driving habits to know just how much right foot is needed as you approach a stop. You can still do a lot of coasting and hardly use your brakes, but it won't be that same long coasting that you remember from your previous rides.
Jayemtee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2011, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Member