When to let IMA kick in - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 2nd Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight MPG

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2011, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default When to let IMA kick in

I've had my 2011 since June 21, 2011 and have about 3,700 miles so I'm a retired driver and haven't been on any trips yet. So 90%+ of my miles are city. And a lot of that has stop signs with no traffic. So I've started to down shift at 9 mph to stop the IMA from turning off the engine at 7 mph for the < 1 second at the stop sign. Then I shift to D and then go. I do that because I expect the restarting of the engine every block or 2 would use up the IMA battery and then when I'm sitting at a stop light for a minute or 2 the engine would stay running.

My ? is how long should you expect to be stopped to let the IMA turn off the engine? Is 10 seconds long enough? I expect one minute is enough. The trip mpg goes down very fast with the engine running at a stop light.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Fuelly
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mikejbb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2011, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)