New(er) Insight Driver and Tires - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 2nd Generation Honda Insight Forum > Honda Insight MPG

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2014, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New(er) Insight Driver and Tires

Hi everyone,

Nick here and I'm new to the group and just purchased a used 2011 Honda Insight EX (dark metallic gray, no mods, etc) and have been loving it over all. It has come with the OEM Dunlops that I have read on various posts here and online and don't seem to rate so well with most. I am "ok" with them and they serve the purpose for me at this point and were brand new when I bought it. Given our last winter here in the northeast (live in Connecticut) and surprisingly, I did well with the Dunlops. However, come winter, and being a nurse, I will be getting winter tires but that is down the line.

My question is, my tread is still decent on my car and rotate them when recommended, however, I know I will want to get something better in the size that is needed. I currently get decent mpg's - with the warmer weather (60-70 degrees) I average about 44-49mpg depending upon if it's mostly city, highway, hills, or a combination and in the winter it killed at about 36 - 42.

That aside, the most recent postings on tire recs for all/season LRR tires seem to be from a bit back and was wondering what people are recommending with the choices available now. Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated and look forward to hearing from everyone and seeing what this group is all about.

Nick
njarsenaut is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2014, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)