yummy - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > Hybrid and Alternative Fuel Forum > Insight and Honda News

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2007, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default yummy

Ok, just looked at that Tesla... dreamy... but even if I would have to sell my $100,000 house and live in it for $93,000! Maybe if I went to med-school instead of nursing school one might be on my radar. If I did that, by the time I graduated, I could buy a cheap electric for sure...
Plus, gee a $50,000 down payment for something you won't get for another year? Ouch... better off in the stock market...
1991 Honda Accord Wagon
jenpetosa is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2007, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: yummy

Quote:
... that Tesla... dreamy... I could buy a cheap electric ...
... or build your own!? When you have a moment, have a look at http://www.robertqriley.com

Pull up the web page for the plan set for his URBA ELECTRIC or the other one he calls URBA CAR. There's also a three wheeler (a modified motorcycle (or if you wish, an all electric version) all of which might be worth looking at.

On this end, I bought the plans for both the Urba Electric and the Urba before finding out about the little Honda Insight.

The true cost(s) to (properly) build these Urba vehicles which Riley offers plans for, is about ten thousand dollars, when you take into account material AND labor. The new Insight cost me just slightly over seventeen thousand, so I opted for the Insight which came with a few "bells, whistles and chrome" I wouldn't have otherwise had were I to build one or both of the cars I'd bought plans for.