Olympia-WA Lithium Build - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > Modifications and Technical Issues

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2018, 04:11 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Olympia-WA Lithium Build

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the world of Honda Insights, and I was just informed by the local Honda dealer that my IMA needs to be replaced ($4K). I bought this 2000 Insight for less than $4K a couple of years ago. I work with Li-ion batteries (all 6 chemistries), and LTO is one of my favorites, especially for EVs. Putting a power pack together is easy, but it's the implementation or interfacing with the Insight's electronics that's got me confused.

How do I get the documentation and schematics for the Insight's IMA system to better understand the system architecture? Thanks.
Olympia-WA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2018, 04:22 PM   #2 (permalink)

Thank you, gentlemen. I have 30 more pages to go (and a manual). My LTO suppliers in China will be providing me with some prices (including BMS), and I'll compare that against LFP prices. LFP is usually 30-40% less expensive, but also less than 3,000 life-cycles as compared to > 10,000 for LTO. If interested, I'll be glad to share that with you. Karl
Old 07-20-2018, 04:09 AM   #3 (permalink)

To get a more accurate price quote from my suppliers in China, I'd like to have the following for a basic power pack:
- Max pack voltage
- Max continuous discharge (amps)
- Max regen charging voltage and current
- Capacity of existing NMH power pack
- Max dimensions of power pack

While LTO can easily handle all of the Insight's requirements, but I need to select the right recipe for LFP (20-40% less expensive than LTO) for best performance and service life.

Thanks.