Understanding MPG computations - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > MPG Issues

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2010, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Understanding MPG computations

It's been almost two months of Insight ownership for me and I feel like I'm still learning how the Insight works. Today as I was driving to work it occurred to me that when I reset, say, the segment read-out, I feel like the mpg reads higher and changes often. However, the Trip A/B read-out, which is not reset and shows cummulative miles, has small incremental MPG changes. Today I decided to view Trip B, which I didn't reset and had about 70 cummulative miles from five separate trips. The mpg stayed at a constant 53.x mpg (city driving, CVT). Normally when I do a reset of the segment, the mpg will read a bit higher at the end of the trip.

Btw, when starting the car at --mpg, the sequence seems to be: 6.7, 25.1, 39, 41, 53, 54.2, 56.1, 59, 61, 65, etc.

It seems there are big jumps eary on and then the changes become more linear until it remains steady with small changes.

Last edited by dirty hippie; 10-01-2010 at 07:32 PM.
dirty hippie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-01-2010, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Member

Cold engine, warm engine and average over greater distance. It's all relative.
satchel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2010, 09:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lifetime Member

Bigger jumps early on the trip, as the display updates in 1 minute steps.

2000 Red Insight MT. #032
IMAC&C & OBDIIC&C.
faxe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2010, 01:11 PM   #4 (permalink)