MPG's in the mid 30's. What am I missing? - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > MPG Issues

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2014, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default MPG's in the mid 30's. What am I missing?

Hello all. I am very new to the Hybrid. I have read a lot of threads and have done a lot of work to my Insight and still not getting anywhere close to the Mpg's everyone talks about. Here is a list of things I have done since I bought the car a few months ago:

2002 CVT Insight with 135,000 miles

New honda spark plugs matched to the letter on the head. All were B's if I remember correctly.

New air filter.

Replaced the CVT fluid twice with Honda fluid

Cleaned the EGR plate and valve, intake manifold and throttle body.

New pcv valve

tire pressure at 44. not the factory tires but they are almost brand new. no need in replacing them anytime soon

Removed the interior carpet, was nasty and worn out.

Even tried removing the passenger and rear wiper arms.

I have noticed I get low to middle 40's on the highway, even close to 50 if I try REALLY, REALLY hard.

I know driving habits affect mpg a lot but even when my 74 year old mom drives the car she only averages in the high 30's.

I am missing the aero panels under the engine and transmission. All the others are present and in good shape.

I have read that these little cars will get in the mid 30's without the IMA system being used. I have noticed that when I flip the switch to turn it off that the gauge still shows it is charging and assisting. Only thing that doesn't work is the passenger side window when the switch is turned off.