Expert advice on pulse-and-glide? - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > MPG Issues

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2015, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Expert advice on pulse-and-glide?

I am a beginner at hypermiling and just starting to try some hypermiling techniques with my Insight 2000. What I have been doing is accelerating to, say, 45 mph, then shifting to neutral with the engine on, coasting to 32 mph, then shifting to 3rd gear, moving up to 4th gear, and back to neutral. A pattern of 3-4-N-3, sometimes just 4-N-4. This technique alone has allowed fantastic gains in mpg, especially when the roads are level and the traffic is low. I was practicing this in the Nevada desert and the few motorists on US 95 must have thought I had some kind of problem (mental or mechanical, it depends) but I was doing over 90 mpg for a long stretch of US 95! Back to California, traffic forced me to cool it on the hypermiling but I completed a 1800 mile round trip at better than 66 mpg (lifetime mpg is 55.4). This included high speed freeways and stop-and-go traffic jams.
So, my question is, can this sort of driving be improved in some way?
George3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2015, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)

Learn to drive in the "LEAN BURN" zone and you will get better results.

HTH
Willie
MaxIMA Battery (Serial #2), on 8/25/12 @ 301,000 miles
Another MaxIMA Battery, on 6/25/17 @ 399,252 miles
Use: 438,000 mi. @ 58.2 LMPG.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 2 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Willie Williford is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message