Imbalanced battery? - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > MPG Issues

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2016, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Imbalanced battery?

I'm new to this insight. I've got it tuned pretty good. Today I went on my daily commute. I noticed when got on the highway the power and efficiency wasn't as usual. For some peculiar reason it would surge and hesitate slightly . Didn't seem like the engine or transmission which are working perfectly. The drag seemed more the AC kicking on and off. The IMA battery has never been grid charged and was said to be in need of it. Is this the sort of fuel robbing condition that requires grid charging? Because the battery is so imbalanced the charger keeps kicking on? That would make sense. I was getting 70mpg the other day before it started this. Today It stayed on 60.6 mpg for 180 miles upwind or drafting a semi downwind for 30 miles.
Thanks
Z
Advertisement

Old 08-16-2016, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Engine-Off-Coast

Were you seeing any bars lit up on the charging gauge when you felt the power loss?
Natalya is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2016, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)

Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natalya View Post
Were you seeing any bars lit up on the charging gauge when you felt the power loss?
No. I forgot it had a P1164 laf sensor code. I replaced the upper and lower O2 sensor. Which worked a couple of days. then the P1167 came back. If I clear it the O2 sensor starts working. It must be the air fuel ratio fluctuating which is causing the hesitating and surge. I need to check the LAF sensor?
Z
Advertisement

Old 08-17-2016, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)