Mpg issues with my 01 5spd 73k miles - Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum

Go Back   Insight Central: Honda Insight Forum > 1st Generation Honda Insight Forum > MPG Issues

Insightcentral.net is the premier Honda Insight Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2016, 07:48 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Mpg issues with my 01 5spd 73k miles

Ok... Let me first start off with saying that I am new to the insight Central community and hybrid community in general. However I am mechanically inclined, Just not familiar with the hybrid vehicles.
So......my issue is I have a 2001 five speed manual insight with only 73,000 miles. I was averaging 58 to 63 miles per gallon recently, however the past two tanks I've only gotten 55 then 48 miles per gallon respectively. To give you all the information the 55 miles per gallon tank I still had the original tires on I purchased new tires one size larger which are 175/65/14 and are at 39 psi.
My question is what could have caused that significant drop in mpg? Also to let you know when I am driving the battery gauge does go up and down, and the regen and assist levels also go up and down. However though the assist doesn't feel like it used to as far as power and the regen doesn't feel like it's used to either as far as slowing the vehicle down. What could be the issues I have?
always driving is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2016, 08:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lifetime Member

New tires need to "break in" for better mileage.

If it's getting cold where you live, the car likes warm weather for auto stop.

Are you running the "defroster"? Running the windshield defroster uses the AC compressed. And that will take a toll on MPG.

Hope that helps.

"Teacher's Pet" Sold the fellow IC member:, 2004 Silver, AC, CVT, Rear Speakers
38k miles when purchased