Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Something I've been wondering a while is which tranny will allow the Insight to get to 60 faster. From what I understand, people have been saying 5spd is rated for around 11 sec and the CVT around 14 sec? Has anyone really tested this?

Reason I'm asking is cause from what I've seen on 5spd Insights, if you floor it, the tach stays at around 2.5K w/full ASST on the first two shifts. The CVT Insight on the other hand, allows full assist and isn't limited to the 2.5K tach limit.

Now, I'm no car expert, but shouldn't the CVT pull ahead of the 5spd Insight here?

G

·
0 Posts
speed

i don't have enough miles on mine to push it. Ive been trying to go slow. I used to drive a 52 HP VW diesel rabbit. one favorite hill climb was to leave the Golden Gate Bridge northbound at 45mph and floor the accelerator in third gear, reaching maybe 65mph at the tunnel, and floored until the the downhill, following the guardrail in the left lane...nothing like a diesel at max rpm....we'll have to meet and drag
rodney
'03 silver MT no A/C

·
Registered
180 Posts
When I floor my 5 speed in 1st or 2nd the tack will go up to 4k+ easy. I try not to do this too often, but my driveway opens to an almost blind corner with large trucks doing 55MPH. That and when I have to show that tailgating SUV that Insights aren't little toy cars. 8)

·
Premium Member
394 Posts
Re: 0-60 acceleration

The 5-speed will out-accelerate the CVT. This is due to 3 primary reasons: 1) the 5-spd is 110 lighter without A/C and 88 pounds lighter with A/C. 2) the 5-spd puts out 2 more horsepower, due to it's compression ratio of 10.8 to 1 (the CVT has 10.3 to 1) 3) The manual transmission is slightly more efficient in terms of power directly to the wheels vs slippage. Billy......

·
Registered
223 Posts