Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
679 Posts
That auction is going like crazy. 44 bids and already up to $4400 and 3 days left to go on it!

I think Insights are worth more than gold right now. Black gold that is, Texas Tea... Jingle jangle jingle...

·
Premium Member
830 Posts
I have no experience in these auction.
I find it bizarre that they start with a price lower than the reserve price. I do not see why they do not begin where they would like to sell.

At the end, they might not meet the reserve and everybody bids for nothing, too much effort. I do not see the reason for the above.

E.G. if the reserve is $10000 then start at that price, not $100

·
Registered
489 Posts
I've wondered that myself, but I think the idea is, if they set a low starting bid with a reserve, they can see how much people are willing to bid up to, so they could consider lowering the price if and when they relist the item. If they start it at their reserve price and get no bids, they wouldn't know if noone was interested or if the price was just too high.

Pure speculation of course, I personally wouldn't use a reserve in that manner because eBay charges a fee for reserve auctions but you can set the minimum bid to whatever you want without any additional fee.

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
The idea with starting an auction out low is that your more likely to create bidding wars between two or more parties and in theory you should get a higher final price.

·
Registered
741 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Also, listing at $1000 is cheaper than listing at $10,000.

EDIT: I just checked, and ebay charges the same amount for anything over $500. Oops.

·
Registered
741 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
ME: "just curious: I own an Insight, but only 30,000 miles. How did you manage to put on 186,000 miles in only 4 years? Are you a traveling saleman perhaps?"

SELLER: I let my mother drive it to church on sundays.

A smart-*** response. I wouldn't bid for this car...

·