Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a one-owner 2000 5-speed Insight from a local dealer. It's got 159K now and I put a bit over 1000 miles on it in the last couple weeks, mostly on a road trip from SF to LA. Lifetime MPG display reads 56.6 MPG. I'm finding it hard to get into lean burn and maintain it without losing significant speed. My FE so far is around 50 MPG, which just isn't cutting it for me, considering most of my driving has been highway. I'm a fairly careful driver and I know some of the tricks--I've owned a TDI and a Civic before and I'm used to driving for mileage. I try to drive at 65 MPH or so.

I do have some of the service history and I know the EGR and IMA battery were replaced at 110K. IMA, assist, and auto stop seem to function normally from what I can tell.

The car had 175 65 14 Potenzas on it when I bought it but a tire place convinced me to buy some cheap Hercules 175s to replace two tires with nails in them ($180). Tires are at 40+ PSI. I had the car inspected by a local shop and they mentioned a slightly rough idle, oil seepage on timing chain cover, old-looking spark plugs, unknown valve adjustment history, front end creaks, some shuddering, rear motor mount broken, etc.

I had the dealer do the spark plugs, oil change and valve adjustment ($366) and have honestly not noticed any improvement. If anything, the idle seems rougher, although I might just be imagining it or haven't had enough time with the car since the work was done. I did notice that they filled the oil to above the full mark on the dipstick--is that bad? I'm supposed to monitor it because of the seeping.

From my reading on here, my list of possible needs/culprits for reduced MPG are:

- EGR Valve/Plate cleaning
- Stock tires (not sure I can afford them yet)
- Ultragauge for learning the subtleties of lean burn
- Possibly a radiator block
- ???