Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need help with a non-cranking engine! I'm an amateur mechanic at best (but old and not as good as I once was). I am used to working on old domestic Big 3 cars; this is the first "foreign car" I've ever owned.

I bought it with 220k+ miles 5 years ago. It ran fine for 2 years with a good IMA and good/new 12v battery. After sitting unused for a few weeks 3 summers ago, I tried to start it but it would not crank (???).

Prior to that, I had occasionally not driven it for weeks at a time without any problem (the IMA would deplete but the 12v battery was always good--I always keep a trickle charger on the 12v battery).

ALL lights come on the dash, the windows/lights and everything else works fine, but the engine will not crank (???). I don't hear any "clicking" nor see the dash lights dim (no starter draw). 12v battery cables are clean. Grounds look ok, and since everything else works, I assume the grounds are good.

I got under it to see if there was any rodent evidence and did not see anything. Fuses look good. I rapped on the starter. Stumped.

Prior to this problem, I had bought a grid charger (it's still new in the box). After the car wouldn't crank, I thought I'd install the grid charger anyway and see what happens. I started on that project, pulled the IMA cover and switched the IMA off. Then it got cold and I didn't finish the installation. Got frustrated, and it's sat ever since.

Btw, I am in KS (50 miles southwest of Kansas City), and most guys here don't even know what this rare car is. My old skool local mechanic bud refuses to work on it (I don't blame him). Is there any "Insight expert" who lives near Kansas City? If so, I'd be happy to pay him to fix my car. It hasn't driven now for 3 years.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Update: