Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please help ! I have a chance to buy a 2002 honga insight for 2000$ apparemtly was her grand dads and only has 37000 miles on it ...Im new to hybrids .. is this a good deal ? what should i look for please ? im suposed to meet them later today .. a quick response would be appreciated TYVM !!

·
7,200 Posts
The proverbial grandma car!

Buy it before I do..... ;) Kidding... kinda.

37k miles for $2000 is a steal, assuming it's in half decent condition.

Here's a buyer's guide I found with a quick search. There are probably others.

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
That's a good deal regardless. 5 speed or auto? Chances are good the battery will need to be either revived or bypassed. You can drive the car without the hybrid battery connected, it's just a lot more pokey.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Its an automatic .. will it make a difference ??
it looks in amazing shape ... she said her grand dads health is why he cant drive it ..and want to sell it

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
it looks in amazing shape ... she said her grand dads health is why he cant drive it ..and want to sell it
There's a market for automatics. A manual is more desirable among enthusiasts because the fuel economy is much better and there's a better track record for reliability. As much as we on this forum love these cars though, they're typically not worth all that much. With those miles and a good hybrid battery you might be looking at 5-6k, but if the battery is bad or going bad, 2500-3000 might be all you can get out of it. My opinion, I'd buy and use it as a commuter, since they're super reliable and get such great fuel economy.

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
I like mine for long trips. NVH isn't great - they don't have a lot of sound insulation - and the seats are something you either love or hate. They also don't come with factory cruise control but there are some inexpensive aftermarket options.