Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a newbie to this community and is seeking advice. I live in California and just bought a 2010 Insight EX with 157K miles and saw the emission warning light after driving the car for just 2 days. I have a feeling the previous owner knew this and is the reason for selling the car. Unfortunately the warranty covers up to 150K. I went to AutoZone and the reader came up with P0420 only. Based on the threads I read I am assuming the front catalytic converter (mounted to the exhaust) is bad. The most expensive fix is to replace the converter and the least expensive fix is to use the no-fouler. Is there anything other options? What size of the no-fouler should I get? Thank you in advance.

·
Super Moderator
4,736 Posts
How do you propose that he get it registered in CA?

OP, if you aren't able to register the car I believe that you have recourse against the seller.

Does the anti-fouler work in a G2? I don't remember this coming up before. It wouldn't hurt to try.

Sam

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
Two days? I think I might start with whoever did the smog inspection required to sell and register a vehicle in California. Rainsux is right, it is the seller's responsibility to provide a smog cert when selling a car. If you did not get one, talk to the seller.

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
Also, in my neighborhood there has been a recent rash of Cat Converter thefts. Perhaps the seller was a victim and put in a crappy aftermarket one just to sell it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I was able to get the car smog before the emission light came on. At least I am good for 2 years and I guess I was lucky. I wished I can by pass the emission but in California that is a no go. Thank you for all the comments.

·
Premium Member
1,751 Posts
How do you propose that he get it registered in CA?