Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
(Newbie here.)

2nd owner of 2013 Insight. 60.5K miles on it now.

I took it in for an Excessive Oil Consumption (EOC) test about a year ago. It didn't meet the threshold of consuming 1qt/1000miles to qualify for the extended warranty. :(

Fast forward to this Jan, I don't have details of that previous EOC test on hand, but it SEEMED to be consuming even more oil. So I brought it in for another EOC.

Then on March 4 the dealership reports consumption is 1.5qt / 2000 miles - still below the threshold to invoke the extended warranty. My daughter, meanwhile, reports unpleasant smells in the car when she's driving it, but I don't detect anything (no, I don't have COVID ;)) .

4 days later (yesterday), the car breaks down with all kinds of warnings cycling on the dash and I limp (15mph) to the side of the road. This was about a minute after accelerating hard on an uphill ramp to merge with left-side (so, higher speed) traffic on an interstate. Towed to dealership ($195).

Dealership's initial status report to me was that the code they see is 'misfire' (they didn't mention exact code number). They called about an hour later to say they pulled plug number one and found that it was fouled and broken. They pulled plugs 2 and 3 and they were also fouled. They hadn't pulled the rest of the plugs yet at the time of that phone call to me, but the assumption is all plugs are bad. The total cost of repair will be around $770.

Two days for them to get all the parts they need to replace plugs, so I'll pick up a loaner later today.

Question: How much of a case do I have to perhaps convince Honda to reimburse for this repair because, I think, the excessive oil consumption caused the fouled plugs - even if oil consumption isn't high enough to trigger the extended warranty?

·
Premium Member
2001 5S "Turbo"
11,372 Posts