Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2004 insight with 3500 miles. I have a 14-mile trip to school, 1/3 stop-go neighborhood stop signing and the other 2/3 is 70 mph 10 mile stretch with 4 stop lights here and there, sometimes i get lucky.
*My tire pressure- I have it at about 42 all around, that should go up, but if i drive .2 miles to a gas station will it be all right?
*Driving technique- i like to get up go from a stop, i know that might kill it but i'm a not so cautious driver. Is there any way to achieve higher mpg without driving like to slow?
*Are the accessories that can be bought or other goodies that increase mpg? Also, its been 3500 miles and no oil change, when do i have to start worrying about that.
Thanks for any responses.

·
Premium Member
679 Posts
Air temperature can make a big difference, so if you are going on shortish trips with quite a bit of stopping before the engine is warm enough for autostop, that will hit your mpg really heavily.

If you are gunning it at the starts and driving aggressively, then that will hit you as well of course.

Bear in mind that there is probably nothing wrong with your Insight, but you have not a super long commute and you are driving aggressively. You are still getting a lot more for your driving style than any other car out there.

I suggest doing your commute every so often where you carefully watch the instantaneous mpg reading and drive 60 mph instead of 70 mph just for fun. If your engine is warm and you are seeing autostop at the stops, then it is plenty warm that you should see the super high mpg (100-150) as your coast in between stops on flats.

You may find it entertaining to drive for max mpg on one trip, and then ignore it on the next one.

Just do a few trips to make sure your Insight is OK. I bet that it is fine.

However you drive, you still will be saving gas over the alternative if you drove some other car the same way!