Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am on a extended vacation in the Noth East for the last few months.
I am new to Insight driving for max MPG. I am on a constant learning curve. I did not take me long to figure out that to achive great milage per gallon, it requires lots of monitoring the inst. bar graph on the bottom of the display, and try and keep it as high as possible at all times. I am finding out that this is not as easy as it may seem. Since the weeather in the North East has been hotter than the last 50 years, it is very hard to drive with no Air Cond. running. I find that the little 1 liter engine has to give up a lot of its H. P. to run the A.C. compresser. This was cutting my gas milage to 57 MPG on interstate long trips. I tried running with Ecno mode fan only, with fan on max with windows closed. I was under the impression that with both windows wide open, the wind drag coming into the cabin of the car would ruin the drag coef. and there fore kill the gas milage. I tred the spray bottle of ice water and spritzing my fore head as some due on this site to keep cool. That, does not go over too well with the wife and her little Poodle dog. So on my last trip on the interstate from Syracuse, NY to Wilkes Barre, Pa. I opened both windows wide open.