Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few months back I bought a NiMH battery in good condition and was able to use assist for the first time. After helping Natalya with her LTO install, I decided to pursue a similar solution for my 2000 citrus MT.

Right now we are pulling together tools to more easily reproduce an aluminum bolt-in subframe to hold three Honda Fit lithium batteries.

I am relatively new to the world of electronics however I'm an experienced mechanic and have learned a lot about this wonderful car and the many modifications the IC community performs since joining a year ago. I'm very excited to get this LTO installation completed.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
While waiting on a few more supplies to arrive I modified the BCM and MCM per 40% Current Hack. Peter documents the original splice-in method in this thread. He now offers a clean and nearly foolproof internally mounted pcb for the MCM portion of the mod, more on that here.

I already began soldering resisters on my MCM before learning about the 2019 CH pcb, so I opted to continue with the hard-soldered method.

A list of needed resisters can be found at the top of the 2019 Current Hack thread. Beware of older versions of the resister list floating around. Check the 2019 Current Hack thread for the correct ones to use.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As mentioned I am fairly new to electronics and soldering. So bear with the sloppy work below. I haven't seen any pictures of the hand-soldered method, so something may be better than nothing. Peter offers videos explaining this method. Video #1. Video #2.

BCM is super easy - just a single 240R 1w 0.1% resister is needed here.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #4