Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know our synchros are a weak link, and am keeping that in mind, and might just keep the Honda MT fluid in my car. That said I've had success using Motul and Royal Purple fluids in the manual tranny of some other cars, and have noticed a real difference in smoothness in shifting. Wondered if anyone has used anything long-term that you could recommend that won't hurt the tranny/synchros.

I called Royal Purple, they recommend HPS 5w30.

Some folks on Facebook (maybe here too) are recommending Pennzoil Synchromesh.

Any intel on these or others?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Personally I have been using the Pennzoil Syncromesh in my 2006 MT for the past two years or so- was probably around 245,000 miles when I changed it, currently above 265K. My transmission already had the downshift grind in 2nd gear when I bought the car, and fresh fluid won't fix that of course, but it did make it a good bit less stiff going into gear in the winter cold. Besides that so far so good. I intend to replace the transmission with a rebuilt one sometime in the next couple of years but for now it's perfectly usable with double-clutching.

·
Super Moderator
826 Posts
Just put fresh Honda MTF in and be happy.

I used to have a 2004 Honda Civic Hybrid 5MT. At one point I noticed that when it was cold out (below freezing), the shifting would become quite stiff. It really didn't like going into 2nd and especially 1st gear while moving. I put fresh Honda MTF in, and that fixed the problem.

The synchro issue on 1st and 2nd is a design weakness/limitation of this transmission. No amount of magic bug juice is going to prevent the issue. You can mitigate it by not slamming it into first or second at higher speeds. Probably 15 and 30 MPH respectively.