Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm about to change my plugs in my 2000 Insight. Many of you have given part numbers and letters for 4 spark plugs, A-D.

However, in all of the detailed photos, there are only 3 plugs. I know the car is a 3 cylinder. In fact, the dealer wanted to sell me 3 (three) plugs. What gives? Why are there 4 part numbers and 4 plugs, A-D? What am I missing? Please advise. I'm new to this.:confused:

·
Premium Member
3,641 Posts
There are three.
The letters refer to how they are indexed. (Which way the tip is facing inside the cylinder when properly seated.) You have to check your particular letter marking on the head and purchase that plug.
HTH

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
There are three.
The letters refer to how they are indexed. (Which way the tip is facing inside the cylinder when properly seated.) You have to check your particular letter marking on the head and purchase that plug.
HTH
Almost.

To clarify: There are four different spark plugs. You only need three of them. freezin4 is right: You have to check your particular letter markings on the head, and purchase the correct set of three plugs for your car.

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
Be careful to perform the maintenance when the engine is cold, with these indexed plugs it is important to make sure you torque them down properly so the electrode is pointing in the right direction.

Apply a small amount of anti-seize compound to the plug threads, and screw
the plugs into the cylinder head, finger-tight. Torque them to 23 N.m (2.3
kgf.m, 17 lbf.ft).

·
Premium Member
1,761 Posts
also dont over-tighten them. Sometimes even correct index letter plugs may not line up the way they are supposed to. I tried to make it go a little further to get it to line up, and I broke it inside the head, but i got lucky and was able to get the remaining threads of the plug out using an extractor.

·
Registered
958 Posts
Indexing spark plugs