Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I GOT MY '05 M/T INSIGHT 14 MONTHS AGO WHEN
I STARTED A NEW JOB THEY REQUIRED A LONG COMMUTE .

SINCE THEN I HAVE PUT 23.000 MILES ON IT AND CONSISTENTLY GOTTEN
OVER 60mpg . I DID PUT IN A NEW IMA BATTERY 6 MONTHS AGO

IT HAS 180,000 ON IT NOW & I HAVE BUMPED UP THE LIFETIME mpg
AVERAGE TWICE TO 56.1 .

AND THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ....
THE "MAINTENANCE REQUIRED" LIGHT SOON ACCOMPANIED IT .

HERE IN NC IF YOU DON'T PASS INSPECTION , YOU CAN'T RENEW YOUR REGISTRATION AND YOU CAN'T PASS INSPECTION WITH A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON .

SO I HAVE BEEN TINKERING WITH IT FOR A FEW MONTHS NOW
TRYING TO EXTINGUISH THE BLASTED LIGHTS .

THE CODES SAID THE '02 SENSOR IS THE CULPRIT .
I REPLACED THEM ONE AT A TIME USING DENSO FOR THE UPSTREAM
AND CENTER . I WOUND UP GETTING A WALKER FOR THE DOWNSTREAM .

LIGHT STILL ON .

I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL SHOP HERE IN RALEIGH WHO ADVERTISES
AND EXPERTISE IN HYBRIDS . THEY CHARGED ME $150 TO REPLACE
THE GAS CAP & SAID THE LIGHT WAS OUT BUT IT WAS STILL ON
WHEN I STARTED THE CAR .

I GOT THEM TO READ THE CODE BEFORE I LEFT AND THEY SAID IT
THAT IT WAS FOR THE DOWNSTREAM O2 SENSOR .

I HAVE NOW REPLACED THE DOWNSTREAM ONCE AGAIN .
CLEARED THE CODES AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS OUT
FOR ABOUT TWO SECONDS AND ONCE AGAIN CAME BACK TO HAUNT ME .

I AM ALREADY DRIVING THE CAR ILLEGALLY . IF I CAN'T FIX THIS
I WILL HAVE TO SELL IT .

IT HAS BEEN A GREAT CAR THAT HAS BOTH SAVED & COST
ME A LOT OF MONEY . IT STARTS INSTANTLY , RUNS GREAT
GOOD HEAT & AIR AND GETS WEEKLY mpg AVERAGES IN THE 60's

I CAN'T IMAGINE IT's A BAD CAT . THE FUEL EFFICIENCY WOULD SUFFER .
ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED .

·
Registered
93 Posts
The shop needs to warranty their work as they did not fix your problem and still charged you money

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
610 Posts