Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY 2005 INSIGHT FOR TWO YEARS
I HAVE DRIVEN IT 33,000 MILES AND MANAGED TO TICK UP THE LIFETIME MPG AVERAGE 4 TIMES TO 57.1

I WAS GOING GREAT WITH THIS CAR UNTIL LAST WEEK WHEN I HIT A DEER ON THE WAY TO WORK .
THE INSURANCE COMPANY WANTS TO TOTAL IT OUT AND GIVE ME A CHECK FOR $1900 .

THEY WILL DEDUCT SALVAGE VALUE FROM THAT AMOUNT IF I DECIDE TO KEEP THE CAR .
I JUST DON'T HAVE THE TIME TO TAKE ON ANOTHER PROJECT SO ONE WAY OR ANOTHER , I AM GOING TO HAVE TO LET IT GO .

IT HAS JUST SHY OF 190K AND HAS A MANUAL TRANSMISSION WITH NO SECOND GEAR PROBLEMS .
I AM LOOKING FOR ANOTHER ONE . IT MUST BE A MANUAL .

DSC_1970.JPG

DSC_1971.JPG

·
Administrator
11,018 Posts
That looks fixable to me...

New bonnet wing and headlight.
Front top radiator cross member thingy etc etc

·
Registered
239 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'd argue with that $1900. There are people that specialize in appraisals of wrecked cars and it's entirely worth their fees. When I totaled my 2006 in 2016, I got like $5k, and that was before these started showing up on bring a trailer.
On a side note, I can't get them now, but I have a slightly better hood and fender on my totaled blue insight I'd be willing to let go of. Life is a bit weird right now, so it'd be at least a month before I could grab them, though.

·
Registered
239 Posts
What’s frustrating to me is that although the car isn’t REALLY totaled..... the insurance company says it is.... so that means a salvage title. Is there a way to avoid them “totaling” the car? I don’t really understand the insurance ins and outs.

·
Registered
34 Posts