Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At the risk of sounding defensive, I have to establish right up front that I've been driving for more than 35 years and for most of that time it's been in manual shift cars. Point being: it's not an unfamiliar process for me.

That said, this Insight we recently picked up is making me look like a rookie! Every other manual I've driven has (apparently) been very forgiving of pulling the transmission out of a gear more or less simultaneously with depressing the clutch. But when I do that with the Insight, I get all kinds of embarrassing sounds of gear teeth grinding. I can avoid this only if I shift in a very purposeful Step 1/Step 2/Etc. way....depress the clutch (fully), pull transmission out of gear, pause ever-so-briefly in neutral on the way to next gear, shift to next gear, engage clutch. It's almost the way you'd shift a big rig truck!

Note that the sounds don't come from going to the *next* gear....it comes from being just a little hasty to get out of the gear I'm in. Does this ring any bells with anyone? BTW, there are not quite 30K miles on this car...hard to believe that synchros would be worn. Is it just something with this tranny?

·
Premium Member
4,942 Posts
Would probably be bad news if its in the tranny or clutch. Given your experience and that the Insight isn't that much different in shifting it reads like somethings wrong. :(

Had the MTF recently changed :?: Its still sometimes mistakenly replaced with an 80W gear oil that will cause rapid damage. In all Hondas that's a no-no. They requires a 30 or 40 weight engine type oil. Honda MTF has special additives that the racers confirm gives the best _subtle_ shifting feel. I've used 10w-30 Mobile 1 myself in all my Honda MT's without a problem. Gone in excess of 200K miles in two of them with it too. ;)