Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I am new to insightcentral, and a new owner of an old 2000 Insight. I only purchased just over a month ago. The IMA light came on around Thanksgiving, as a "1447" code. There is someone who fixes Insights near me, who helped me find the code. The person who sold the car thought that the battery had just been changed, but did not have paperwork, as he purchased it from an auction. So, I don't know if the battery is the original battery, or not. I feel stupid for not double-checking.168,000 miles.

I don't know much about cars, this is my first hybrid, and I am a poor medical student (very busy, a lot of debt), so this comes as a big disappointment. So now, I am writing to ask for your suggestions:

do you think that grid charging this battery is a good idea, or just getting a new battery?

The Insight-fixer thinks that it can be grid-charged, but won't know until we try first. New cable is $89, and installation fee is $100. Then he charges $25 per grid charge, in the future. Around $189 total.

Or, I can purchase a new grid charger from Hybrid Automotive for $400. I can try to install it myself (but don't have all the tools--- am looking to borrow, if anyone has), or his installation fee is still $100. $500 total.

I looked at ebay, amazon, craiglist, and here, and did not find any used grid chargers.

I did find a "Maxx-Volts" charger on ebay that is around $150 (less than half the HA price) but it has mixed review on this forum, and my local Insight-fixer does not have experience with it. He recommended HA.

...Or I can get a new battery which can be $1500-$3000, which is currently prohibitively expensive, but I can look to borrow money. I haven't looked into this option yet. Stressful.

What are your thoughts and experiences?

Thank you so much,
Jiling
(in Los Angeles)

·
Premium Member
3,415 Posts
P1447 has a good chance of responding to a grid charge.