Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Silver CVT | 'TRONICS'
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was looking through the pinned superpost on the modifications page, and it seems a lot of the forum discussions on fuel efficiency mods are a bit old and not as recent. So I'm wondering what fuel economy modifications people have been doing recently that really increase your miles per gallon (especially in these times lol). I'm new to the Insight game, as I got my Silver 2003 CVT about a month ago, and I'm impressed by the people and community that support this car.

·
Registered
2000 Silverstone G1- 200k miles
239 Posts
I was looking through the pinned superpost on the modifications page, and it seems a lot of the forum discussions on fuel efficiency mods are a bit old and not as recent. So I'm wondering what fuel economy modifications people have been doing recently that really increase your miles per gallon (especially in these times lol). I'm new to the Insight game, as I got my Silver 2003 CVT about a month ago, and I'm impressed by the people and community that support this car.
There really isn't much else that people haven't tried. Most advancements have been relating to the battery pack

If you look at the Toyota Prius of the past few generations it really hasn't gone up much higher in fuel efficiency even though the Toyota engines have variable valve timing. It's just hard to improve on things without either making compromises or having miniscule gains for the amount of money you'd be putting into it

·
Administrator
13,793 Posts
A few things off the top of my head.

1) Slow down a lot.
2) OEM tyres at 50psi+ with correct alignment.
3) Manual Car or CVT with Lean burn ECU
4) Brakes perfect and not dragging.
5) Engine state of tune etc ditto. Clean EGR, good O2 sensor, plugs etc.
6) Hot air intake mod for winter.
7) Aerodynamic mods. (Boat tail etc)
8) Manual IMA control. (This can help with variable terrain)