Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
7,200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whew, what a wirlwind.

Ok, a little background info.

I was driving a 2002 Ford Focus, got into a relatively minor accident, car was totalled.

I'm a courier driver. I drive ~325 a day, ~1600 miles a week and am on track to drive 90,000 miles per year. This is, quite frankly, insanity.

Anyway.. Obviously, I spend an insane amount of money on gas; 803$ last month. When I began researching what car I was going to buy as a replacement, it pretty much came down to either a Hybrid or a Diesel.

The diesel offerings were troubling(Volkswagen), and none of the other hybrids got the mileage of an Insight. So I began searching. I found that they are hard to find. I thought I was going to have to fly out of state and drive it back, which I would have done.

Then one night one popped up at a small dealership about 50 miles away from me. I drove down early the next morning, looked it over, took it for a short drive, and bought it for $8675 out the door.

Enter 2001 Honda Insight with 85715 miles now.

The most glaring mechanical issue that I've encountered in the 3 days that I've had it is a fairly loud lifter tick at #1. It sounds like a lifter is in severe need of adjustment. I'm hoping to get it taken care of this weekend, but if I'm not able to, how big of a deal is it? Different engines deal differently with sloppy lifter actions. I just don't want anything to grenade. Obviously, I've been trying to keep the RPMs down.. not only because of that, but because of fuel efficiency. ;)

How hard is a valve adjustment to do yourself? Keep in mind, I'm extremely proficient with engines, however, if the job is tedious, easy to screw up, or just generally a pain in the ***, I will happily pay someone else to do it.

What else should I look out for in regards to mechanicals? Does it eat CV joints?