Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there's a ton of threads by people like me looking for information on buying an Insight, and I have read a number of them. My questions though are a little tailored, so I figured a thread couldn't hurt, much.

Background is I'm a college student, so my budget is limited. Despite a limited budget, around $6000, I'm trying to get a very fuel efficient car. I've looked into old Prius's, Civic Hybrids, and mostly Insights. The problem I'm having is that there's almost no Insights for sale where I live. I've been watching for a few months now, and the one time I saw one I was to slow at getting to it. Because of this I've decided to look out of state.

What I'm really wondering is this. Is it possible to find a Inisght, preferably CVT, for about $6000 that is in decent aesthetic condition without insane mileage (Under about 80k)?

Also, is there any specific things I should ask about the car, or just out of state car buying advice, since I most likely wouldn't be able to see it without a fairly long trip?

Thanks a lot for any help! :)

·
Registered
222 Posts
probably hard to find an insight for $6k at the mileage you are looking for.

for $6k start looking in the 100k-120k range.

·
Registered
416 Posts
Yup, $6k is really cheap for a low milage Insight. It's probably worth it to continue to look for a low milage one and just find a bit more money as this allows you to get in way under warrenty (one less thing to worry about).

About the second half of your question, there are many, many posts here about what to look for when buying an Insight. Take a look around. Personally, I believe the lifetime fuel milage would say the most (so long as it hasn't been reset.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for the responses. They've given me a few more questions for either of you, and others to come by this thread.