Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All, this is my first in the forums.
I have a G1 2001 Insight that I've been driving for a few years. Until last month everything ran great (charge/assit/no IMA light, etc.)

ANYWAY, suddenly the charge/assist stopped working. I took it in and got the codes p1581 and p1586. After blinking the codes, only 1581 (21) came up. It's a pretty broad code? My mechanic has worked on hybrids, but we're both wondering where to start. I found a post in the forums (but it wont let me add the link since it's my first post), and it suggests it may be a sensor. I'll see if I can add the link as a reply.

Anyone else ever pull these codes? (I don't have any of the dreaded battery codes, just these two). Also, I am NOT a mechanic, so laymen's terms will be appreciated.

Thanks for any advice in where to BEGIN the process of getting my Insight back and running.

Sada

·
Registered
1,798 Posts
A quick search reveals these:

P1581 Motor Power Inverter (MPI) Module Current Signal Circuit Problem

P1586 Motor Power Inverter (MPI) Module Current Signal/Battery Current Signal Circuit Problem

Do you live in a road salt area?

Broadly speaking, if I were to guess, the issue is in the MDM/MCM assembly. It could be a wiring issue also.

Funny thing, I actually recycled most of what was in my hybrid battery compartment last year when I swapped my engine. You might be able to get a replacement unit for free or very cheap from one of the K-series engine swap crowd. I'd have given you mine for shipping, it's just so rare for anything to go wrong with them I didn't think to hold onto it.

·
Premium Member
2001 5S "Turbo"
11,420 Posts
SatS:
Please include your Location in your Profile, as ALL G1 Insighters have.
Thank You
Willie

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)