Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,
I'm seriously considering the purchase of a new Insight with a manual transmission, but I need some reassurance before I make the final decision.

1. I'm not an expert mechanic or techno-wizard, but I seem to know more about the Insight than most of the Honda dealers I've talked to. This worries me. How difficult is it to get these things fixed by Honda dealers? Is it possible to find mechanics who can work on them when the warranty expires?

2. How do Insights handle snow. I'm aware that they come with special tires. Should one use snow tires in the winter.

3. I've read several comments on this forum about mountain driving. Is the performance of Insights comparable to that of Civics in mountains?

4. I've noticed several Insights on the lots of small Honda dealerships in upstate NY. Does this suggest that they're being unloaded because Honda is planning on discontinuing the production of the Insight?

Thanks for your help.

Ed Pierce

·
Premium Member
4,942 Posts
Hi Edward and welcome to the forum :!: :)

Seems there has been a lot of interest from new owners over the last
couple of months, must be something to do with the price of gas. ;) :)

Anyway if you simply spend some time reviewing the first few pages here
in the General forum I believe that most of your questions have been
recently asked and answered. :)

Also don't forget the Insight Central Encyclopedia

http://www.insightcentral.net/KB/index.html

And the Driving tips to maximize fuel efficiency:

http://www.insightcentral.net/KB/faq-quicktips.html

Specific to your questions:

1. The difficulty of a repair is directly proportional to its frequency of occurrence. Once you've been there, don that, then its relatively easy. Its the uniqueness of the Insight that makes _some_ problems tougher.

2. Use the forum search feature on snow tires, several members in heavy snow areas swear by them.