Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The 430k mile car unknown history. Replaced flywheel and drained fluid. Fluid looks as though it was red and old. New correct fluid and we have movement. Do not have more than simple OBD2 scanner, so recommendations on scanner. In the meantime: transmission will ‘grab hold’ between 500 and 1000 rpm, jerky and rough. Start clutch and/ or a drive sensor? Cannot drive to get diagnosed, so the jumper and blink light system would suffice? Many thanks!
Ps— have Mac system, was able to download manual via the Google docs link. Walked me through the flywheel replacement.

·
7,090 Posts
Oh my, that's some nasty fluid.

I am not a CVT expert at all, so take this with a grain of salt, but start clutch sounds like a good place to start to me.

Why did you need to replace the flywheel?

·
Administrator
11,010 Posts
Replace fluid and all CVT filters, then do the start clutch and coast down setup procedures...

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, cart and horse sequence. Thought it might only be flywheel spline, and yes it was rusted and dry and toothless. But, cvt has issues too. The clutch grabs just as the auto off goes back on. Then loses its grip, and a growl begins in tune w/ rpm.Wish I had a good scan tool to better define the problems.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am more familiar with setting points and tuning carburetors than analyzing a hybrid. So, will do blink testing tomorrow, as I learn my way forward, to 18 yrs ago. Thanks in advance to those that have posted their teachings. I really want this car to be a modern museum piece, a statement to what is possible in the world of cars and enthusiasts.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Here’s what I found w/ jumper in place—ABS light is only one that blinks. 16, 54 and 61. When OBD2 reader is later plugged in, CEL blinks 5x then out.

·
Registered
45 Posts