Honda Insight Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a gray (grey?) 2000 Insight 250K miles. Reputedly the very first one in Austin. It's my favorite car - ever. Lately, I've been studying the forum to extend its life.

My windshield again needs to be replaced, so I wanted to be more involved in the correct way to do it. I studied up on the forum, and removed it properly, only to find, as I suspected, that somewhere over last twenty years and at least two windshield replacements, the plastic tabs on the garnish itself have been damaged. The last guy essentially glued it back on.

Again, I studied up on replacing the garnish only to find that getting replacement parts won't be easy.

Also, I've been reading about the "collectors value", which I've learned it surprisingly low. So being "true to original" is not a priority.

With all that said, I thought I might post my solution - I screwed the dang th If it doesn't work, I can always go back to trying to find replacements.ing on. I've always been a "form follows function" guy. Plus I've always liked products that have their fasteners in plain sight. That's what I have here. (FWIW, I made my living as a product designer.)

I removed all the broken tabs. I pressed down, out of the way, all the metal tabs. I covered the holes with duct tape. Then I fastened with self tapping screws. When possible, I drilled the holes close to the tab receiver bodies to minimize distortion. I countersunk the screwheads. I think it'll look pretty good when I repaint. It sure is easy to remove the trim piece now.

Attached are some pics.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
215 Posts
Aren't you concerned about those screws rusting?

Otherwise has a NASCAR vibe.

·
Registered
7,825 Posts