Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I wrote in a previous tread “Do not use WD-40 to clean the EGR Valve” I still support this theory. Sorry if I repeat myself, however I would like to summarize my knowledge and experience. Hopefully someone will be able to benefit or at least understand how the EGR Valve performs. Couple of months back as a newbie I had the bad experience using WD- 40 as a solution to my jerkiness as we all experience at one point in our Insights. All I did read was buying a new one or cleaning/soaking the EGR valve in WD- 40 for over a night. I truly believe this is NOT the solution to our problem, instead it might worsen the hesitation of the car due to the oily stuff that WD- 40 contains. Once the WD-40 penetrates into the potentiometer /pot/ inside the valve /the top black plastic part/ that’s were the problem gets worsen. In the following FIVE steps I tried to explain how to clean or repair the EGR Valve.

First step Clean EGR Plate
Second step Soak EGR Valve
Third step Open Repair EGR Valve
Forth step Open Repair EGR Valve / cutting the wipe by 5mm/
Fifth step Drilling A Hole / update on the hole/

FIRST:

I do recommend you clean the EGR plate and then attempt to clean the EGR Valve or Repair it. The EGR Plate is know to trap a lot of the carbon from the bad gasoline. As I recall in my ‘86 and in my girls ‘88 Accord manuals, Honda do recommends 91 or higher octane that means premium gas. I drove mine for over 200K never had carburetor or engine problems. I think that the Insight’s ‘00 manual also do recommends 90 octane or higher. Higher octane therefore better and complete burn in the chamber and less gas/carbon to deposit in the emissions. To remove the EGR plate you need to unbolt five bolts 12mm. The upper 3 are easy to work on the lower two are the though once. Here are my pictures of mine EGR Plate full with carbon deposit.

Imageshack - 00001egrvalvehondainsig