Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
830 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking into an Insight electric conversion. With a manual transmission. Bare with me that I am no expert and those could look funny to an expert.

I have seen the Gary Graunke's web site http://www.austinev.org/evalbum/461.html
where he uses a Siemens 5105WS12 AC, a 18Kw motor http://metricmind.com/motor.htm connected directly to the transmission

In our Insight, it is a 10 Kw motor also connected directly to the transmission.

My questions would be:

- the motor in the Insight is DC but it is 3 phase DC so it is very similar to the 3 phase AC. Could a standard AC controller run the Insight motor. Maybe diodes would be involved to turn the AC into DC

- the 10 Kw motor, could it handle more, is there a good margin of power to the rating so that it can do 18 Kw I remember reading somewhere that it was a downgraded version of a 50 kw motor.

- if above is No, could it be possible to replace only the gas engine with a 10 Kw electric motor. To be able to hold the IMA motor in place and assist that motor. Some custom adaptor needed, for a total of 20 Kw of power.

Even a standard AC motor needs an adaptor to connect to the transmission.

·
Premium Member
830 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I have posted this question to the Yahoo Honda hybrid forum.

And also tried something new, a forum at http://www.control.com. I do not know if it will turn something out. I found this site while doing a "3 phase DC controller" search

·
Premium Member
498 Posts
DC/AC motor controllers

Yves,

As far as I know, the IMA motor is an "electronically commutated permanent-magnet DC motor". While this sounds fancy, it is - in principal - identical to a "permanent magnet synchronous AC motor".