Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 Honda Insight with 148,000 miles on it and it has developed a definite knocking sound from the engine. I'm thinking it is probably a rod knock but whatever it is, the engine is going to have to come out.

If it is a bad connecting rod bearing the normal fix is to have the crank shaft turned and put in over size bearings and with this much mileage one usually rebuilds the whole motor. However in my case parts for this thing are going to be expensive so I might just fix what needs fixed and leave the rest alone.

I have had some experience with rebuilding motors but this beast is a lot different. Dose anyone have any advice for me?

Roger

·
Registered
162 Posts
All the internals of this engine are forged and blanced! Three cylinder motors are alot more sensetive to unbalanced internals due to no symetiric inertial/rotational forces!

What exactly does the knock sound like... once a rotation kinda knock, or could it be detonation in lean burn? If you had alot of carbon build up on your valves and inside you cylinders, you would be alot more likely to see detonation! and in lean burn, that problem could be even worse as lean burn naturally increases combustion chamber temps!

Just a though, a mechanic once told me that rod knock was really rare and often over diagnosed!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The knocking sound is there when you first start the car when it is cold and it doesn't change much when it warms up. The sound of it changes a little as the load on the engine changes. I think it is a once a revolution knock but I'm not sure.