Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I'm a newbie owner of a 2000 year insight gen 1 in the UK. Have owned since october and have slowly been getting her fixed up. Have just replaced the gearbox mounts and two engine mounts this weekend and am now experiencing a crazy amount of engine shake on idle and when lifting the clutch to engage gear at low revs. With the engine idling and the bonnet open, the engine shakes about an inch top to bottom, pick up the revs and it goes away. She revs cleanly to red line and appears to drive fine except for this issue and being particualry 'lumpy' around 1500 rpm and therefore requireing a lower gear to smooth out the running. Has had a recent oil change and still no change. any advice welcome and apologies if this has been covered anywhere else.
many thanks,
James

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes OEM mounts - i'm aware of people using non-OEM and filling them with polyurethane to their detriment, no this issue was as before the mounts and id assumed that it was just the mounts, now I think its something else that may have caused it - could it be a misfire perhaps? needing new spark plugs? it's only got 80k miles on the clock.... ive read on here that there could be an issue with the EGR but people appear to only be reporting issues at higher revs

·
Administrator
11,586 Posts
If you had a serious misfire I would expect an engine code/warning light.

Really bad engine shake at idle is unusual.

When installing the mounts is there a tightening sequence?

Have you pulled it out alignment somehow.

Have you used the right mounts?

I think CVT and manual are different? Don't quote me though.

Are all the ancillaries secure, air con compressor etc.

·
Super Moderator
5,084 Posts
Is your IMA operational?

Sam

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6