Honda Insight Forum banner

Front strut upper mount replacement?

691 18
Hello everyone,

I am at the point where I am about to change out the front springs on my 2000 insight. Looks like a decent amount of work. Recieved the parts from Killer3Cylinder and came to the conclusion of possibly replacing another part, an upper mount for the strut.
As of now, I will change tie rod boots, the bottom out rubbers for the struts (recommended by killer), the springs, and this top rubber mount possibly. Currently, mine is all cracked as you can see below.
Anyone know a part number? Do I just replace the rubber or don't worry about it???

Hood Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive battery Car

Automotive tire Gas Auto part Hat Automotive wheel system

Thanks everyone! Happy Fall!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
I would not do front struts without replacing the mounts. Along with being an avid DIYer, I worked in a shop for a few years and we always did mounts unless customer signed off no warranty for future problems related to not changing them. The couple times we didn't change them, customer was always back within two weeks complaining about clunks and noises.

·
Registered
402 Posts
@Bull Dog

What do you think of Camber strut mounts?

The alignment shop had trouble with the camber on one side of our vehicle so they replaced the 19 mm bolts with camber bolts.

Now I'm wondering if I should have replaced the strut mount when I did the strut and springs and if it would have been a good idea to upgrade to a camber mount.

·
Registered
105 Posts
edit: Immediately after typing this, I saw this thread ZE1 Front shock top mounts
Probably some of what I said was covered there already.