Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all here. I am a new proud owner of a G1 Manual 191K, and I've been reading and watching stuff on here to get up to speed a bit faster, and have been driving my car and observing. Incredible resource, thanks, I would not have purchased this if I didn't know there was such a wealth of knowledge and passion regarding keeping these going. I live on the Big Island of Hawaii, where there are a number of long hills ( volcanos ), and after driving this home I put it on the grid charger I obtained with the car and charged the IMA batteries for about 16 hours up to about 175V, current draw 256mA. Reset the IMA light (#18 fuse) and pulled the relay, did a battery gauge recalibration (I have a shop manual), In driving around I observe the ASST/CHARGE dance as power is applied or removed, which I assume is correct as I have no experience (why I am posting). IMA light is off. If I go up a large hill I have ASST for a partial time, then the ASST dies and I have the CHARGE bars showing even though I am climbing a hill, which I am assuming is the NEG REGEN that has been mentioned in the forums. (Also the IMA light is now illuminated). Is that true? So for the remainder of the hill I am only using the ICE, lug up the hill, then when on the flats or descending after a time I see the CHARGE bars. I try to engage the IMA and it will not assist. But, after a bit of charge it will. and with enough charging the BATTERY comes up to nearly full. (Seems too short a time to have this happen but what do I know anyway at this point?) IMA light stays illuminated untll I pull the #18 fuse, then is out.