Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
Has anyone installed a ham Radio or 2 way radio to a Insight?
I am a Ham radio operator and would like to install a 2 meter rig, and or HF rig, and antenna. It seems to be quite a challange because:
1)Mag mount antennas will not work on the alumn. body
2)Not much room for radios, maybe over cup holders.
3)Afraid stray RF energy from the radio will get into the elect. and computer and effect driveability.
I Would apperciate any comments or suggestions.
Thanks,
Rick Ham Call ND4Z :lol:

·
Registered
182 Posts
My $0.02:

1) How about taking out the rear wiper and using that hole to mount the antenna? You might also be able to put a steel plate behind the glass or Al roof, but I'm not sure how close the magnet has to be for it to stick well.

2) The dash is very deep--likely there is a spot on top of the dash that wouldn't interfere with your view.

3) I think that the presence of substantial power electronics means that everything else has to be designed to work in the presence of the RFI generated by the power electronics, and so it's probably at least as well shielded as in a conventional car.

Charlie

·
Registered
466 Posts
i am thinking of getting one of the hf/vhf/uhf rigs with a removable faceplate. stash the rig under the passengers seat and mount the faceplate to the bottom of the center dash under the am/fm radio.

73 de W4MBG

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
nd4z said:
3)Afraid stray RF energy from the radio will get into the elect. and computer and effect driveability.
Sounds weird, but could be an issue. I've seen a hybrid Civic where a GPS was added. Everytime the GPS was used, the CEL light illuminated with random O2 sensor related codes. But this was likely a result of a fault in the car (grounds...).

·
Registered
466 Posts