Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to this wonderful community and I would like to know if you can help me out with my issue...

I'm in Quebec city, Canada and last Wednesday we had a huge snow storm... There was more than 30 centimeters of snow on the car and as I try to take my shovel in the cargo area, It was really tough to open the hatch with all the snow on it... Since, my hatch door just won't stay open... I just think I maybe break something... I just read that there maybe a known issue on the 2000 model about the rear shock... Would you help me out? :oops:

Thank you !!

Sarah

·
Premium Member
4,942 Posts
There are no "known" issues, except that the hatch struts are nitrogen gas filled. As they begin to leak, if only a small amount of gas has leaked out, in cold weather they won't have as much "lifting" power.

Once the weather warms you may notice an improvement until the leak further progresses.

If I remember correctly (IIRC) the Insight's particular size is hard to find. You may want to try one of the Honda etailers for a discount price over your local sources.

HTH! :)

·
Registered
702 Posts
i had the hatch slam down on my back one day when the snow and ice weighed it down...make sure it is completely cleaned off, because ice weighs alot more than one might think

HTH

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
On my 2000 Insight I had to replace the struts on my rear hatch last year because they were not able to hold the hatch up (even in the summer).

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Same problem here. A month ago I replaced the right side strut, then about a week ago the left side failed as well. Both began leaking oil and then lost their push....

The 2000 models are 7 years old now...Stuff like this is going to fail.

Be warned that the struts at the dealer are not cheap. $130 a piece is what I've paid. There are probably aftermarket versions but I did not bother to check.

·
Premium Member