Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I am a big fan of the Insight and hybrids in general, although not an owner yet. I have had some experience driving an Insight around that was owned by the company I was working for.

In any case, here are my questions to ask some of you that are owners...

What's the max sustainable top speed of the vehicle? (i.e. after driving for a long time at high speed, I assume that the electric boost from the motor drops off when the battery gets low, so then the engine is trying to charge the battery AND provide power to the wheels, so this would be the SUSTAINABLE top speed)

Anyone have fuel consumption numbers while driving flat out like that to go along with it?

I know that most of you Insight guys probably don't drive like that, but this is very useful info regardless, so if someone has done this, please share your experience!

Thanks--

Jason

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
I have driven my 5 speed Insight at a constant speed of 145 km/hr (90 mph) for a few minutes and it didn't use any electric assist.
At high speed the engine is at a high RPM so it can produce more power so it doesn't need assist (at least at those speeds).

To answer your question: I don't know the maximum sustainable speed the Insight can hold without using electric assist, but it's more then 90 mph.

G

·
0 Posts
I've had mine crusing at 105 (on a very early morning run to work) without any assit, so the sustainable speed will be over this.

I think it was doing about 60 mpg instataneous on the guage.

Not done it long enough to get an average reading, there are far too many speed cameras around the area.

·
Premium Member
1,658 Posts
I have also recently got up to 105 mph with no assist. What surprised me was that the engine revs were at 4,000rpm (in 5th) and so I had another 2,000rpm left to play with.

·
Registered
1,123 Posts