Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I would like some feedback regarding the Honda Insight 2011.
I am considering to buy it second hand. The car has 48466 miles on the dashboard.
Since I am very new to the hybrid cars. I am not sure how to make sure the battery etc is still in good shape. I have planned to get a diagnostic report for the car before buying it so I can have some assurance.

Any tips on how to check the car before buying will be appreciated.

Thanks
Kind Regards
Nirmal

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Red Devil.
I see one very useful tip that you gave in one post:

You can tell by taking it for a spin. If on gentle braking the dial on the left dives deep into the green and jumps up high into the blue on brisk acceleration then the battery is doing fine.

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
You're welcome :)

Mind it won't use all hybrid functionality (like AutoStop) until it is warmed up, shortly before the blue low-temperature indicator goes off (should be within half a km on Mauritius ;)).
See if it behaves nicely at speeds around 30 km/h, feathering the throttle. This will make it go into and out of EV mode. That transition should be reasonably smooth.
Get it up to speed, see if it has a high-pitched whine around 100 km/h. It does not break down if it has it (or mine would be dead long ago) but it can be a nuisance you may not want to live with.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hello Red Devil.
The car is awesome. Drives perfectly at all speeds. It's behaves well around 30Km/h and also around 100Km/h. I have downloaded the manual as well and educating myself with it's functionalities.
I have had a diagnostic done and no errors were found which is great.
Cheers

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
I take it you bought it then?
I hope you will enjoy it, I still like it a lot despite the little nuisances I mentioned before.