Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got back from my local Honda Dealer after my car's first oil change in my posession. 22,000 miles...

The sticker Honda put on the window says to return for service at 26,000 miles. This is 1000 miles less than Honda's recommended interval for oil changes even under sevier conditions, and far less than the 7500 under normal... is this normal for them to do?

Also, when I pulled in, the car had a 3/4 charge, when I was leaving the parking lot, it had 2 bars left. Do they reset the charge or something?

Thanks,
Ash

·
Registered
2,448 Posts
Either they pulled the 12 volt cable or they took your car for a little joy ride. Next time reset one of the trip odometers and make sure they don't drive it.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I have noticed that they also seem to excessively idle the engine during diagnosis. I admit I have little auto mechanic experience here, so my words may be meaningless. But last time I brought my car in, I was pretty proud of my high-70's mpg I had gotten on the drive over. When I picked my car up later that day, it had dwindled to 48mpg. Since my trip-meter didn't show a difference in miles, they must have had that thing idling for a while.

·
Registered
1,240 Posts
Kobushi said:
The sticker Honda put on the window says to return for service at 26,000 miles. This is 1000 miles less than Honda's recommended interval for oil changes even under sevier conditions, and far less than the 7500 under normal... is this normal for them to do?
Dealerships tend to lower the oil change interval for 2 reasons. 1) To get more money from you. 2) To increase the life of the engine.

I believe dealerships want you to think they know more about the car than Honda does, so they will make you believe they want to increase your engines life with sooner oil changes. This simply isn't true, they just want more money from you with sooner than needed oil changes.