Honda Insight Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everybody. This is my first time posting to the forum here. I am a proud Honda Insight owner who has had her 2000 Insight since 2001. I've driven it across the country from California to Virginia and back, driven it on dirt tracks in the Mojave Preserve some people wouldn't even take their SUVs on, up steep mountains... it has been an amazing car. The only problems I had with it for the first five years were minor--a few flat tires, and a piece of metal that came loose from the bottom of the car and that had to be replaced (for $300! sheesh).

That is, until recently. A couple months ago, my car started acting a little "funny." Over time, I've watched a few "funny" symptoms turn into a full-blown problem. I took the car to my Honda dealer with a very detailed description of the problem, but they couldn't locate what was causing it. So I was hoping that you Insight experts here might be able to help me out.

So here's the description: The main problem is that the car has stopped using the electric engine as much as it should. The battery gauge never drops down more than two or three bars, and even when I'm on a steep incline, the car will hardly pull more than a few bars on the "Assist" meter. Every once in a while, it will briefly pull a full charge, but when it does that, the battery and emergency brake indicators come on (they disappear when I stop and restart the car), and it will go back to only three or four bars of assist, if that. It just seems it doesn't want to use the electric engine, and only does so minimally and hesitantly. It's made the car much more sluggish and has lowered my MPG.